I really like this episode. Camille Saviola returns as Kai Opaka, the supreme religious leader of Bajor. The opening teaser here is pretty funny. I love how Major Kira reacts to the contents of her Cardassian file! I also like how Sisko gets her to snap out of it.

I don’t know what it is about Camille Saviola, but I find her portrayal of the Kai to be very convincing. She says so much by saying so little. She wastes no words or motions, so that when she does speak, you know it’s important.

Kai Opaka

Camille Saviola as Kai Opaka

I find it poignant that, as the episode goes on, you realize that the reason she was behaving so mysteriously is that she knew she was going to her death, or at least to a change in her circumstances. She knew her destiny was not on Bajor.

I also like how Kira grows by the end of this episode. Her experience on the prison moon helps her get closer to moving on from her violent past.

Notes:

  • Chief O’Brien talks about building a “magnetomer” to find the Yangtzee Kiang, but I don’t know what that is. Perhaps he meant “magnetometer“?
