With such a dramatic episode title, can we be blamed for expecting more?

Jeannine:

Ugh, “The Forsaken” was so rondo. I’m afraid to watch the next episode since you only gave it one star (meaning it’s worse than this one.) Avery’s bad acting was again on display as he attempted to be funny by sighing and then plastering on a smile as the delegates arrived. He just doesn’t do comedy well.

The relationship between Odo and Lwaxana was the only thing that saved this episode. It was great the way Odo was forced to be absolutely vulnerable to her (even though the circumstances were ridiculous). I hope something develops there.

I really don’t get the point of the other storyline other than to get the turbolift shut down. The whole idea of a non-biological lifeform that attaches itself to the Chief like a puppy was silly.

And it was all so neat the way Bashir was able to save the ambassadors and became a hero. Please!

me:

It really was a mess of an episode. I’ve been watching it again because I knew you’d be watching it soon. The whole deal with the computer is silly, and the way those ambassadors are behaving is silly too. The bit with Lwaxana is the only part with any emotional resonance. I’m glad you didn’t think she was too annoying. She’s played by Majel Barrett, the wife of Gene Roddenberry. So she’s kind of adored by many Trek fans.

Aeren:

I knew Odo was in trouble as soon as I saw Lwaxana Troy. I remember her from Next Generation. I really liked Lwaxana knocking Odo off his game. But what’s wrong with Bashir actually living up to his dream of adventure? He is supposed to be very intelligent. I like that he’s character is self-absorbed, it gives it some depth, but I don’t like his Lothario ways. I can’t agree with you more about the rest of the episode. I think they could have come up with a better story about the computer program. I think it should have been trying to contact him. It would have been more interesting to develop a holo program where the program could have come to life. Like the doctor in Voyager.

me:

This episode just feels really half-baked with lots of kernels of
ideas not fully explored. It’s unfocused.

I’m excited because you’ve got two really strong episodes coming up
(the last two of this season)!

Josh:

And then the second season starts out with an exciting storyline, too!

me:

Speaking of the holosuites, I like how they really don’t rely on them too much in this series. They do get into some recurring holosuite stories later on though, come to think of it. Hmm. Never mind.

And me again. And that’s all there is to say about The Forsaken.


